La Cañada High School

Skip to main content
Main Menu Toggle
Welcome to the new La Canada High School site!!!!

Department Information

La Cañada High School Counseling Department Mission

 

The mission of the La Cañada High School Counseling Department, working in partnership with all stakeholders, is to provide a comprehensive counseling program that attends to the needs of all students. The Counseling Department supports students through responsive and developmental services that include personal and social counseling, academic guidance and support, career exploration, college/post-secondary planning, and student and family advocacy.


In our counseling department structure, students will work with counselors based upon the following alphabetical breakdown by student last name.


Counseling Office Staff

James Cartnal, Associate Principal - jcartnal@lcusd.net - +1 (818) 952-4265

Laura Hicklin, Associate Principal's Secretary lhicklin@lcusd.net - +1 (818) 952-4265


Rachel Zooi, 9-12 Counselor, A-Cha - rzooi@lcusd.net - +1 (818) 952-4238

Yvonne Hays, 9-12 Counselor, Che-Ga - yhays@lcusd.net - +1 (818) 952-4240

Melissa Kukta, 9-12 Counselor, Ge-Kh - mkukta@lcusd.net - +1 (818) 952-4254

Susan Maljian, 9-12 Counselor, Ki-L - smaljian@lcusd.net - +1 (818) 952-4262

Esther Rogers, 9-12 Counselor, M-Pa - erogers@lcusd.net - +1 (818) 952-4263

Kim Lauxen, 9-12 Counselor, Pe-Sm - klauxen@lcusd.net - +1 (818) 952-4264

Kandy Basmajian, 9-12 Counselor, Sn-Z - kbasmajian@lcusd.net - +1 (818) 952-4275


Reda Hanna, Student Information Systems Specialist/Registrar - rhanna@lcusd.net - +1 (818) 952-4251


Counselors are available for student drop-in visits before school, during break or at lunch. Students can request an appointment with their counselor by signing up on the counselor clipboards located in the 9-12 attendance and counseling office.