La Cañada High School

Skip to main content
Main Menu Toggle
School's out for summer.

Department Information

Our Mission

 

The mission of the La Cañada High School Counseling Department, working in partnership with all stakeholders, is to provide a comprehensive counseling program that attends to the needs of all students. The Counseling Department supports students through responsive and developmental services that include personal and social counseling, academic guidance and support, career exploration, college/post-secondary planning, and student and family advocacy.

 

In our counseling department structure, students will work with counselors based upon the following alphabetical breakdown by student last name.

 

Counseling Office Staff

 

Laura Hicklin, Associate Principal's Secretary lhicklin@lcusd.net

Andrea Rasmussen, 9-12 Counselor, A-Clo - arasmussen@lcusd.net

Ashley Park, 9-12 Counselor, Clu-Hal - apark@lcusd.net

Melissa Kukta, 9-12 Counselor, Ham-Koz - mkukta@lcusd.net

Susan Maljian, 9-12 Counselor, Kp-Nom- smaljian@lcusd.net

Amy Hernandez, 9-12 Counselor, Non-Shr - ahernandez@lcusd.net

Kandy Basmajian, 9-12 Counselor, Shu-Z - kbasmajian@lcusd.net

Rachel Zooi, 9-12 Wellness Counselor - rzooi@lcusd.net

Amy Erickson, Office Assistant - aerickson@lcusd.net


Reda Hanna, Student Information Systems Specialist/Registrar - rhanna@lcusd.net

 
DROP - IN: 
STUDENTS: Counselors are available for drop-in visits during break or lunch. Students may not drop-in during class time unless they need immediate attention. Drop-Ins are best for any question or concern that can be addressed quickly. 
 
PARENTS: In order to ensure counselors can provide the level of services our students expect and deserve, we ask that parents/guardians please contact your student's counselor directly as opposed to making "drop-in" visit.
 
APPOINTMENTS: If students would like to meet with their Academic Counselor during class time, they should either contact their counselor directly (via email or drop-in) or use the sign-up sheet at Mrs. Erickson's desk. Your counselor will send a pass from you as soon as they become available. 
 
 
EMAIL:  This method saves you from missing valuable instruction in class, waiting in line, and will generally provide the quickest response to your questions.
 
 
 
Updated 12-18-19