La Cañada High School

Skip to main content
Main Menu Toggle
School's out for summer.

National Merit Semifinalists Announced - Congrats 15 LCHS Seniors!

October 2020

For Immediate Public Release


The Principal, James Cartnal, of La Canada High School announced today that the below named students have been named Semifinalists Students in the 2021 National Merit Scholarship Program. A Certificate of Achievement from the school will be presented to these scholastically talented seniors at their home next week by LCUSD and LCHS administration.

LCHS is very pleased to notify our community of our seniors who qualified for Semifinalists in the 2021 National Merit Scholarship program and have the opportunity to continue in the National Merit Scholarship competition. Some 16,000 of the high scorers, representing less than 1 percent of the nation’s high school graduating seniors, qualify as Semifinalists in each annual National Merit Program. The following list of students will have an opportunity to advance in the competition for some 7,600 Merit Scholarship® awards. This is a remarkable accomplishment and represents excellence as these students distinguished themselves among the more than 1.5 million students who entered the 2021 competition by taking the 2019 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT®).

“Please join us in congratulating our National Merit Semifinalists - we are extremely proud of their distinction as scholars,” commented Superintendent Wendy Sinnette.  “Semifinalists are the highest-scoring program entrants in each state and represent the top 0.5 percent of the state’s senior students.  There are many merit scholarships that students may earn in the college application process, but this is universally recognized as among the most prestigious.  Congratulations to all of the LCHS Semifinalists!”

Please join the entirety of the La Canada High School faculty, staff, administration and student body in congratulating our students on this wonderful achievement. 

Semifinalists in the 2021 National Merit Scholarship Program

Student Name

Derek Ahn

Ian Baik

Hee Su Chung

Trinity Chung

Reza Hemmati

Derek Jiang

Olivia Joung

Chase Kerstein

Jordan Lay

Nadia Lintag

Michael Lisano

Ellaney Matarese

Cassidy Olson

Amelia Seropian

Leila Thompsky