La Cañada High School

Skip to main content
Main Menu Toggle
School's out for summer.

39 LCHS National Merit Commended Students - 2021 National Merit Scholarship

October 2020

For Immediate Public Release


The Principal, James Cartnal, of La Canada High School announced today that the below named students have been named Commended Students in the 2021 National Merit Scholarship Program. A Letter of Commendation from the school and National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC), which conducts the program, will be sent to these scholastically talented seniors.

About 34,000 Commended Students throughout the nation are being recognized for their exceptional academic promise. Although they will not continue in the 2021 competition for National Merit Scholarship awards, Commended students placed among the top 50,000 scorers of more than 1.5 Million students who entered the 2021 competition by taking the 2019 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT®).

“Those being named Commended Students have demonstrated outstanding potential for academic success”, commented a spokesperson for NMSC. “These students represent a valuable national resource; recognizing their accomplishments, as well as the key role their schools play in their academic development, is vital to the advancement of educational excellence in our nation. We hope that this recognition will help broaden their educational opportunities and encourage them as they continue their pursuit of academic success.”

Please join the entirety of the La Canada High School faculty, staff, administration and student body in congratulating our students on this wonderful achievement. 

Commended Scholars in the 2021 National Merit Scholarship Program

Student Name

Kartik Aron

Pablo Backer Peral

Callan Brakeman

Leilani Burke

Sahith Cherumandanda

Jessica Chilton

Noah Chun

Hee Yong Chung

Bethany Co

Giancarlo Cugno

Arianna De La Torre Roehl

Sudi Feng

Justine Fisher

Riley Fisher

Jonah Garland

Akul Goel

Jackson Hamada

Stephanie Hwang

George Kamar

Kenneth Kim

Allison King

Sophie Krauss

Alison Kuszyk

Benjamin Lee

Grace Lee

Nina Lidar

Audrey Melillo

Jaden Milbrodt

Alyssa Miyamoto

Malaya Perushek

Daniel Pinski

Claire Saydah

Amanda Scoville

Josiah Smyth

Caleb Suh

Mihir Sukhatme

Miguel Talleda

Sydney Wang

Ray Wipfli